2020 Oscar Nominations: Full List of The Academy Award Nominees

The full list of the Oscar nominations for 2020 is out after a live announcement from stars John Cho and Issa Rae last night, January 13. For the 92nd Academy Awards, Todd Phillips' Joker has the most nominated production with a total of 11 nominations including Best Picture. The Irishman, 1917, and Once Upon A Time... In Hollywood follow closely with 10 nominations each. Other multi-nominated titles, each with 6 nominations, are Jojo Rabbit, Little Women, Marriage Story, and Parasite; the last one being the first Korean film to be nominated for Best Picture in the Academy Awards.

Photo: Oscar website

Did your favorite films, directors, and stars make it to the list? Check them out below:

Actor in a supporting role:​

  • Tom Hanks - "A Beautiful Day in The Neighborhood"
  • Anthony Hopkins - "The Two Popes"
  • Al Pacino - "The Irishman"
  • Joe Pesci - "The Irishman"
  • Brad Pitt - "Once Upon A Time... In Hollywood"

Performance by an actress in a supporting role:

  • Kathy Bates - "Richard Jewell"
  • Laura Dern - "Marriage Story"
  • Scarlett Johansson - "Jojo Rabbit"
  • Florence Pugh - "Little Women"
  • Margot Robbie - "Bombshell"

Makeup and hairstyling:

  • "Bombshell" - Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan and Vivian Baker
  • "Joker" - Nicki Ledermann and Kay Georgiou
  • "Judy" - Jeremy Woodhead
  • "Maleficent: Mistress of Evil" - Paul Gooch, Arjen Tuiten and David White
  • "1917" - Naomi Donne, Tristan Versluis and Rebecca Cole

Film editing:

  • Michael McCusker and Andrew Buckland - "Ford V Ferrari"
  • Thelma Schoonmaker - "The Irishman"
  • Tom Eagles - "Jojo Rabbit"
  • Jeff Groth - "Joker"
  • Yang Jinmo - "Parasite"

Original score:

  • "Joker" - Hildur Guðnadóttir
  • "Little Women" - Alexandre Desplat
  • "Marriage Story" - Randy Newman
  • "1917" - Thomas Newman
  • "Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker" - John Williams

Original song:

  • "I Can't Let You Throw Yourself Away" ("Toy Story 4")
  • "(I'm Gonna) Love Me Again" (Rocketman)
  • "I'm Standing With You" ("Breakthrough")
  • "Into The Unknown" ("Frozen II")
  • "Stand Up" ("Harriet")

Best documentary feature:

  • "American Factory" (Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert and Jeff Reichert)
  • "The Cave" (Feras Fayyad, Kirstine Barfod and Sigrid Dyekjær)
  • "The Edge of Democracy" (Petra Costa, Joanna Natasegara, Shane Boris and Tiago Pavan)
  • "For Sama" (Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts)
  • "Honeyland" (Ljubo Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska and Atanas Georgiev)

Best documentary short subject:

  • "In The Absence" (Yi Seung-Jun and Gary Byung-Seok Kam)
  • "Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone" (Carol Dysinger and Elena Andreicheva)
  • "Life Overtakes Me" (John Haptas and Kristine Samuelson)
  • "St. Louis Superman" (Smriti Mundhra and Sami Khan)
  • "Walk Run Cha-Cha" (Laura Nix and Colette Sandstedt)

Best animated short film:

  • "Dcera (Daughter)" (Daria Kashcheeva)
  • "Hair Love" (Matthew A. Cherry and Karen Rupert Toliver)
  • "Kitbull" (Rosana Sullivan and Kathryn Hendrickson)
  • "Memorable" (Bruno Collet and Jean-François Le Corre)
  • "Sister" (Siqi Song)

Best live action short film:

  • "Brotherhood" (Meryam Joobeur and Maria Gracia Turgeon)
  • "Nefta Football Club" (Yves Piat and Damien Megherbi)
  • "The Nieghbor's Window" (Marshall Curry)
  • "Saria" (Bryan Buckley and Matt Lefebvre)
  • "A Sister" (Delphine Girard)

Achievement in sound editing:

  • "Ford V Ferrari" (Donald Sylvester)
  • "Joker" (Alan Robert Murray)
  • "1917" (Oliver Tarney and Rachael Tate)
  • "Once upon A Time... In Hollywood" (Wylie Stateman)
  • "Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker" (Matthew Wood and David Acord)

Achievement in sound mixing:

  • "Ad Astra" (Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson and Mark Ulano)
  • "Ford V Ferrari" (Paul Massey, David Giammarco and Steven A. Morrow)
  • "Joker" (Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic and Tod Maitland)
  • "1917" (Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson)
  • "Once Upon A Time in Hollywood" (Michael Minkler, Christian P. Minkler and Mark Ulano)

Achievement in production design:

  • "The Irishman" (Bob Shaw and Regina Graves)
  • "Jojo Rabbit" (Ra Vincent and Nora Sopková)
  • "1917" (Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales)
  • "Once Upon A Time... In Hollywood" (Barbara Ling and Nancy Haigh)
  • "Parasite" (Lee Ha Jun and Cho Won Woo)

Achievement in visual effects:

  • "Avengers: Endgame" (Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Matt Aitken and Dan Sudick)
  • "The Irishman" (Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Nelson Sepulveda-Fauser and Stephane Grabli)
  • "The Lion King" (Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Elliot Newman)
  • "1917" (Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler and Dominic Tuohy)
  • "Star Wars: the Rise of Skywalker" (Roger Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach and Dominic Tuohy)

Best international feature film of the year:

  • "Corpus Christi" - Poland, directed by Jan Komasa
  • "Honeyland" - North Macedonia, directed by Ljubo Stefanov and Tamara Kotevksa
  • "Les Misérables" - France, directed by Ladj Ly
  • "Pain and Glory" - Spain, directed by Pedro Almodóvar
  • "Parasite" - South Korea, directed by Bong Joon Ho

Adapted screenplay:

  • "The Irishman" (Screenplay by Steven Zaillian)
  • "Jojo Rabbit" (Screenplay by Taika Waititi)
  • "Joker" (Written by Todd Phillips & Scott Silver)
  • "Little Women" (Written for the screen by Greta Gerwig)
  • "The Two Popes" (Written by Anthony McCarten)

Original screenplay:

  • "Knives Out" (Written by Rian Johnson)
  • "Marriage Story" (Written by Noah Baumbach)
  • "1917" (Written by Sam Mendes & Krysty Wilson-Cairns)
  • "Once Upon A Time... In Hollywood" (Written by Quentin Tarantino)
  • "Parasite" (Screenplay by Bong Joon Ho, Han Jin Won; story by Bong Joon Ho)

Actor in a leading role:

  • Antonio Banderas - "Pain and Glory"
  • Leonardo diCaprio - "Once Upon A Time... In Hollywood"
  • Adam Driver - "Marriage Story"
  • Joaquin Phoenix - "Joker"
  • Jonathan Pryce - "The Two Popes"

Actress in a leading role:

  • Cynthia Erivo - "Harriet"
  • Scarlett Johansson - "Marriage Story"
  • Saoirse Ronan - "Little Women"
  • Charlize Theron - "Bombshell"
  • Renée Zellweger - "Judy"

Best animated feature film of the year:

  • "How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World" (Dean DeBlois, Bradford Lewis and Bonnie Arnold)
  • "I Lost My Body" (Jérémy Clapin and Marc du Pontavice)
  • "Klaus" (Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh and Marisa Román)
  • "Missing Link" (Chris Butler, Arianne Sutner and Travis Knight)
  • "Toy Story 4" (Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen and Jonas Rivera)

Achievement in cinematography:

  • "The Irishman" (Rodrigo Prieto)
  • "Joker" (Lawrence Sher)
  • "The Lighthouse" (Jarin Blaschke)
  • "1917" (Roger Deakins)
  • "Once Upon A Time... In Hollywood" (Robert Richardson)

Achievement in directing:

  • Martin Scorsese - "The Irishman"
  • Todd Phillips - "Joker"
  • Sam Mendes - "1917"
  • Quentin Tarantino - "Once Upon A Time... In Hollywood"
  • Bong Joon Ho - "Parasite"

Best motion picture of the year:

  • "Ford V Ferrari"
  • "The Irishman"
  • "Jojo Rabbit"
  • "Joker"
  • "Little Women"
  • "Marriage Story"
  • "1917"
  • "Once upon A Time... In Hollywood"
  • "Parasite"


The 92nd Oscars will take place at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center this February 9, 2020, Sunday and will be televised live on the ABC Television Network and worldwide (7:30 AM on February 10, Philippine time). For more information, check out the official website of the Oscars.



Homestream image from the Oscar website.

  • Share on
More from ClickTheCity

Editors' Picks