2020 Oscar Nominations: Full List of The Academy Award Nominees

Here's a complete list of all the nominees for this year's 92nd Academy Awards!

The full list of the Oscar nominations for 2020 is out after a live announcement from stars John Cho and Issa Rae last night, January 13. For the 92nd Academy Awards, Todd Phillips' Joker has the most nominated production with a total of 11 nominations including Best Picture. The Irishman, 1917, and Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood follow closely with 10 nominations each. Other multi-nominated titles, each with 6 nominations, are Jojo Rabbit, Little Women, Marriage Story, and Parasite; the last one being the first Korean film to be nominated for Best Picture in the Academy Awards.

Photo: Oscar website

Did your favorite films, directors, and stars make it to the list? Check them out below:

Actor in a supporting role:​

  • Tom Hanks – "A Beautiful Day in The Neighborhood"
  • Anthony Hopkins – "The Two Popes"
  • Al Pacino – "The Irishman"
  • Joe Pesci – "The Irishman"
  • Brad Pitt – "Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood"

Performance by an actress in a supporting role:

  • Kathy Bates – "Richard Jewell"
  • Laura Dern – "Marriage Story"
  • Scarlett Johansson – "Jojo Rabbit"
  • Florence Pugh – "Little Women"
  • Margot Robbie – "Bombshell"

Makeup and hairstyling:


  • "Bombshell" – Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan and Vivian Baker
  • "Joker" – Nicki Ledermann and Kay Georgiou
  • "Judy" – Jeremy Woodhead
  • "Maleficent: Mistress of Evil" – Paul Gooch, Arjen Tuiten and David White
  • "1917" – Naomi Donne, Tristan Versluis and Rebecca Cole

Film editing:

  • Michael McCusker and Andrew Buckland – "Ford V Ferrari"
  • Thelma Schoonmaker – "The Irishman"
  • Tom Eagles – "Jojo Rabbit"
  • Jeff Groth – "Joker"
  • Yang Jinmo – "Parasite"

Original score:

  • "Joker" – Hildur Guðnadóttir
  • "Little Women" – Alexandre Desplat
  • "Marriage Story" – Randy Newman
  • "1917" – Thomas Newman
  • "Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker" – John Williams

Original song:

  • "I Can't Let You Throw Yourself Away" ("Toy Story 4")
  • "(I'm Gonna) Love Me Again" (Rocketman)
  • "I'm Standing With You" ("Breakthrough")
  • "Into The Unknown" ("Frozen II")
  • "Stand Up" ("Harriet")

Best documentary feature:

  • "American Factory" (Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert and Jeff Reichert)
  • "The Cave" (Feras Fayyad, Kirstine Barfod and Sigrid Dyekjær)
  • "The Edge of Democracy" (Petra Costa, Joanna Natasegara, Shane Boris and Tiago Pavan)
  • "For Sama" (Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts)
  • "Honeyland" (Ljubo Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska and Atanas Georgiev)

Best documentary short subject:

  • "In The Absence" (Yi Seung-Jun and Gary Byung-Seok Kam)
  • "Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone" (Carol Dysinger and Elena Andreicheva)
  • "Life Overtakes Me" (John Haptas and Kristine Samuelson)
  • "St. Louis Superman" (Smriti Mundhra and Sami Khan)
  • "Walk Run Cha-Cha" (Laura Nix and Colette Sandstedt)

Best animated short film:

  • "Dcera (Daughter)" (Daria Kashcheeva)
  • "Hair Love" (Matthew A. Cherry and Karen Rupert Toliver)
  • "Kitbull" (Rosana Sullivan and Kathryn Hendrickson)
  • "Memorable" (Bruno Collet and Jean-François Le Corre)
  • "Sister" (Siqi Song)

Best live action short film:

  • "Brotherhood" (Meryam Joobeur and Maria Gracia Turgeon)
  • "Nefta Football Club" (Yves Piat and Damien Megherbi)
  • "The Nieghbor's Window" (Marshall Curry)
  • "Saria" (Bryan Buckley and Matt Lefebvre)
  • "A Sister" (Delphine Girard)

Achievement in sound editing:

  • "Ford V Ferrari" (Donald Sylvester)
  • "Joker" (Alan Robert Murray)
  • "1917" (Oliver Tarney and Rachael Tate)
  • "Once upon A Time… In Hollywood" (Wylie Stateman)
  • "Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker" (Matthew Wood and David Acord)

Achievement in sound mixing:

  • "Ad Astra" (Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson and Mark Ulano)
  • "Ford V Ferrari" (Paul Massey, David Giammarco and Steven A. Morrow)
  • "Joker" (Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic and Tod Maitland)
  • "1917" (Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson)
  • "Once Upon A Time in Hollywood" (Michael Minkler, Christian P. Minkler and Mark Ulano)

Achievement in production design:

  • "The Irishman" (Bob Shaw and Regina Graves)
  • "Jojo Rabbit" (Ra Vincent and Nora Sopková)
  • "1917" (Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales)
  • "Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood" (Barbara Ling and Nancy Haigh)
  • "Parasite" (Lee Ha Jun and Cho Won Woo)

Achievement in visual effects:

  • "Avengers: Endgame" (Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Matt Aitken and Dan Sudick)
  • "The Irishman" (Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Nelson Sepulveda-Fauser and Stephane Grabli)
  • "The Lion King" (Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Elliot Newman)
  • "1917" (Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler and Dominic Tuohy)
  • "Star Wars: the Rise of Skywalker" (Roger Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach and Dominic Tuohy)

Best international feature film of the year:

  • "Corpus Christi" – Poland, directed by Jan Komasa
  • "Honeyland" – North Macedonia, directed by Ljubo Stefanov and Tamara Kotevksa
  • "Les Misérables" – France, directed by Ladj Ly
  • "Pain and Glory" – Spain, directed by Pedro Almodóvar
  • "Parasite" – South Korea, directed by Bong Joon Ho

Adapted screenplay:

  • "The Irishman" (Screenplay by Steven Zaillian)
  • "Jojo Rabbit" (Screenplay by Taika Waititi)
  • "Joker" (Written by Todd Phillips & Scott Silver)
  • "Little Women" (Written for the screen by Greta Gerwig)
  • "The Two Popes" (Written by Anthony McCarten)

Original screenplay:

  • "Knives Out" (Written by Rian Johnson)
  • "Marriage Story" (Written by Noah Baumbach)
  • "1917" (Written by Sam Mendes & Krysty Wilson-Cairns)
  • "Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood" (Written by Quentin Tarantino)
  • "Parasite" (Screenplay by Bong Joon Ho, Han Jin Won; story by Bong Joon Ho)

Actor in a leading role:

  • Antonio Banderas – "Pain and Glory"
  • Leonardo diCaprio – "Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood"
  • Adam Driver – "Marriage Story"
  • Joaquin Phoenix – "Joker"
  • Jonathan Pryce – "The Two Popes"

Actress in a leading role:

  • Cynthia Erivo – "Harriet"
  • Scarlett Johansson – "Marriage Story"
  • Saoirse Ronan – "Little Women"
  • Charlize Theron – "Bombshell"
  • Renée Zellweger – "Judy"

Best animated feature film of the year:

  • "How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World" (Dean DeBlois, Bradford Lewis and Bonnie Arnold)
  • "I Lost My Body" (Jérémy Clapin and Marc du Pontavice)
  • "Klaus" (Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh and Marisa Román)
  • "Missing Link" (Chris Butler, Arianne Sutner and Travis Knight)
  • "Toy Story 4" (Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen and Jonas Rivera)

Achievement in cinematography:

  • "The Irishman" (Rodrigo Prieto)
  • "Joker" (Lawrence Sher)
  • "The Lighthouse" (Jarin Blaschke)
  • "1917" (Roger Deakins)
  • "Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood" (Robert Richardson)

Achievement in directing:

  • Martin Scorsese – "The Irishman"
  • Todd Phillips – "Joker"
  • Sam Mendes – "1917"
  • Quentin Tarantino – "Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood"
  • Bong Joon Ho – "Parasite"

Best motion picture of the year:

  • "Ford V Ferrari"
  • "The Irishman"
  • "Jojo Rabbit"
  • "Joker"
  • "Little Women"
  • "Marriage Story"
  • "1917"
  • "Once upon A Time… In Hollywood"
  • "Parasite"


The 92nd Oscars will take place at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center this February 9, 2020, Sunday and will be televised live on the ABC Television Network and worldwide (7:30 AM on February 10, Philippine time). For more information, check out the official website of the Oscars.


Homestream image from the Oscar website.

Recommended Videos

Share this story

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Get Our Weekly Newsletter

Our top stories and updates, straight to your inbox