Apple releases 3 new iPhones and here's everything you need to know about it

posted on

After months of waiting, Apple has finally announced three new iPhones — iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus and iPhone X — at its annual September product launch. Sure, they didn't bring back the headphone jack everyone misses from the previous iPhones but they sure did make a number of upgrades. Excited to know what they are?

iPhone 8 and 8 Plus

The phones are still 4.7 inches and 5.5 inches, respectively, and have new Retina HD displays. It also now has a 3D Touch and its stereo is 70% louder than the previous model. Just like its predecessor, they're water-resistant but still has no headphone jack.

There is a new brand new chip, the A11 Bionic which is the most powerful and smartest chip in a smartphone that 70% faster and is designed to work well with 3D.

If you love taking photos, you'd love the iPhone's camera which has a new 12-megapixel sensor which provides deeper pixels, new color filters and promises less noise and better color reproducton.

The company also introduced Portrait mode with Portrait Lighting that brings studio lighting effects to the iPhone, allowing users to take stunning portraits with a shallow depth-of-field effect in different lights like natural, contour, stage and more.

In addition, you can now wirelessly charge the new iPhone 8 and 8 Plus with the support of the Qi wireless charging standard.

The iPhone 8 and the iPhone 8 Plus is available in 64GB and 256GB and starts at $699 and $799, respectively. The new iPhones will come in silver, space gray and gold.

iPhone X

Just when the keynote was reaching its end, they announced the iPhone X (pronounced as iPhone 10), to mark the phone's 10th anniversary. It is their most expensive smartphone ever, since 2014.

Starting at $999, the iPhone X has an edge-to-edge 5.8-inch diagonal display which packs 458 pixels-per-inch and an OLED screen which Samsung and LG already has.

The new iPhone X doesn't have a home button to make space for a larger screen. It  has a glass on the front and back, wireless charging, water and dust resistant that's similar with the iPhone 8 and 8 Plus.

Since the iPhone X has no home button, unlocking it is made possible using a new technology called Face ID. Using the front camera and sensors, it creates a map of your face to know that you're the phone's owner.

Apple also introduced another feature called Animoji which shows animated emojis that's able to copy your facial expressions. The new iPhone X will also have 12MP cameras like on the 8 Plus but with a faster telephoto lens and an optical image stabilization.

The iPhone X is available in 64GB and 256GB and starts at $999 and $1149, respectively. It will come in in space gray and silver.



Homestream Image from Apple Youtube

Editor's Picks