Ad Astra - User Reviews

Ad Astra

Sci-fi, Thriller | PG | 2 hrs 03 min
20th Century Fox
  Amazing Visual Effects (6)   Male lead (5)  Thought-Provoking (4)
  •   Fri, 4 Oct 2019 1:10 PM

    It's either you totally love the film or totally hate the film (hence, the reason why I can't really recommend this to all). This is, for me, a great film. :)

    Love the Male lead Amazing Visual Effects Thought-Provoking
  •   Mon, 30 Sep 2019 11:26 AM

    Amazing Visual Effects
  •   Mon, 30 Sep 2019 8:57 AM

    Great performance by all the cast.

    Love the Male lead Thought-Provoking Superb Cast
  •   Sat, 28 Sep 2019 9:40 AM

    Growing up I've always been fascinated with astronomy (geek alert!) that probably explains why I've been drawn to these sci-fi space genre like "The Martian", "Interstellar" and "Gravity". "Ad Astra", Latin of "To The Stars" unlike previous films, is nothing political but got a simpler premise, an astronaut participates in the search for his long lost father. Nevermind how they defy physics or how far it is to scientific laws, just for 2 hours, prepare to stare on Brad Pitt's face! Andaming tight shots, focusing on his quiet and restraint acting. Not too many may appreciate the slow and long sequences but with the cinematography and musical scoring, overall this one's a visually satisfying experience. Pero mas entertaining yung 3 pelikulang namention ko. Hahah!
    PowerSurge.SpaceBandits.SpaceBaboons.

  •   Fri, 27 Sep 2019 10:40 AM

    Not much story bloated by space. Brad Pitt as an old guy just discovering feelings. We didn't need to cross the solar system for this.

  •   Fri, 27 Sep 2019 8:35 AM

    good visuals but men what kind of storyline and plot is that?! zzzzzzz

  •   Thu, 26 Sep 2019 9:51 AM

    movie is long and a bit boring...

  •   Wed, 25 Sep 2019 5:01 PM

    Love the Story
  •   Wed, 25 Sep 2019 4:57 PM

    *originally posted on Letterboxd (JustinRC)
    Twitter: @JustinRC16

    Both a space exploration film and a well-focused character study, Ad Astra does an exceptional job with the former while the latter is executed more decently. I went in, knowing the divisive reactions of audiences, and while I kinda understand the complaints, I didn't find it boring and dull at any point. This is my first film I've watched from James Gray and I'm interested in watching his other films. Space travel in this film both looks and feels futuristic yet grounded. Visual world-building of a more technologically-advanced world also look grounded and interesting. Both the set design, special effects and cinematography compliment the world-building and look astounding. Some shots even remind me of Blade Runner 2049 because of how they look. The ideas presented in the film are thought-provoking and personal to the lead character. Brad Pitt did great work in portraying an emotionally-stoic character. I've never seen him do dramatic roles, so in scenes where he displays intense emotions with subtle restraint, I was quite impressed. There are complaints about the narration, and although it could've been more subtle without it, it never really bothered me. For the first two acts, I was thoroughly engaged and immersed into this film. But by the time it reaches its third and final act, I was underwhelmed by how it turns out. Throughout the film, scenes in the film are all building up to this important moment for Brad Pitt's character, and when the moment arrives, it's more restrained and didn't quite reach the emotional heights it potentially can achieve. If the third act paid off more effectively, I would've put this on my Top 10 list.


    Regardless, Ad Astra is a technically expertly-made film. There's always a strong sense of wonder and discovery in each new place the characters went. The score from Max Richter intensifies the film's eerie and heavy atmosphere. It's a solid, intriguing sci-fi adventure drama and I find it enjoyable for the most part. For now, I'm going to give it a 7 out of 10.

    Love the Male lead Amazing Visual Effects Thought-Provoking
  •   Wed, 25 Sep 2019 11:13 AM

    Amazing Visual Effects Inspiring Thought-Provoking
  • Load More
More from ClickTheCity

Editor's Picks